Republic of Macedonia officially has 35 cities with over 60% of the population living in them. About 30% of the population lives in Skopje’s metropolitan area. The municipalities in Macedonia are administrative units of first degree and there are currently 80. In addition to the municipalities, administrative Macedonia is divided into 8 planning regions, but they are not considered as first instance administrative division, but as planning regions for development. This section shows some of the cities and municipalities in Macedonia.